List of Foods Containing Gluten

Our List of Foods That Contain Gluten and Foods That Don't Contain Gluten

Since gluten appears in many foods, some obvious and some not so obvious, the list of foods containing gluten is a long one. Do not be alarmed, though. For any food containing gluten that can be cooked or baked, there is a way to make it gluten free.

Although we try to include all foods containing gluten on this list, do not consider this list comprehensive. It’s always best to check your food labels.

For you convenience we’ve also turned our list into a PDF.

Gluten Foods List PDF

Gluten Foods List PDF – What Contains Gluten?

List of Foods Containing Gluten

Grains

Grains are gluten in its most natural form, so avoid:

  • Barley, including barley malt
  • Bran
  • Bulgur
  • Farina
  • Kamut
  • Orzo
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Wheat

Pastas

Any pasta, whether elbow macaroni, bowtie, spaghetti, rigatoni, or any other shape, that is made of:

  • Wheat
  • Semolina
  • Farina

Baked Goods

Most processed baked goods are made from wheat, so these contain gluten. Look for gluten free alternatives to these goodies:



  • Cake
  • Bread
  • Bread crumbs
  • Cupcakes
  • Tortillas
  • Bagels
  • Muffins
  • Pastries
  • Sandwich buns
  • Hotdog buns
  • Pizza crust
  • Pie crust

Cereal

Cereal made from rye, wheat, bran, and barley always contain gluten, but ones containing oats, corn, and rice are often processed on the same equipment as their gluteny counterparts. It is imperative that you look for the “gluten free” label on cereal. Read more on do oats contain gluten here

Meat and Poultry

In its natural state, meat and poultry is gluten free. However, the processing and cooking of the meat often adds gluten. Be wary of any meat or poultry that is precooked or prepared, especially these types:

  • Breaded meat or chicken
  • Oven- or deep-fried meats
  • Hot dogs and other meats processed with “natural flavors”
  • Lunch meat

Other Items

  • Beer
  • Dressings
  • Couscous
  • Tabbouli
  • Gravies
  • Sauces
  • Candy
  • Potato chips
  • Tortilla chips
  • Canned soup and broth
  • Bouillon cubes
  • Frozen or canned vegetables in sauce
  • Restaurant or fast food French fries (Find out about gluten free fast foods here)

The bottom line when it comes to gluten is that you must always check labels or, better yet, eat food that doesn’t require a label, such as fresh fruits, vegetables, meat, and poultry.

So we’ve shown you the foods that contain gluten, now how about a list of gluten free foods? So without further ado here we go, here is our gluten free foods list.

Finding gluten free foods is becoming increasingly important because of the potential danger that gluten in the diet can cause for people. If eliminating gluten from your diet is a concern you hold, our gluten free food list should help.

A Gluten free diet is especially important to sufferers of Celiac disease, or folks who are otherwise intolerant to consuming wheat in their diet. That’s why the correct labeling of gluten-free products is of such importance.

We support the correct labeling of gluten free food.

The Gluten Free Food List is divided into 5 sections:

  1. Fruit
  2. Vegetables
  3. Meat
  4. Dairy and Eggs
  5. Bread and Grains

Discover the benefits of eating gluten free foods

Eating a gluten free diet might be one way to reduce or eliminate certain health issues you may be experiencing. Always check with your personal physician before making any changes in your diet.

Gluten free eating tends to be an improvement lifestyle, but be aware of the same pitfalls that exist in any diet. Even if gluten free food doesn’t contain wheat gluten, it still has fat, calories, and sodium that needs to be accounted for if you’re attempting to lose weight and improve your overall health.

Many people have expressed a lot of joy at the taste of gluten free bread made from gluten free recipes. It is worth your time to discover the benefits of a gluten free diet. There are many gluten free products for you to try if you think it will help.

Gluten Free Bread And Grains

Bread and grains tend to be the main source of gluten. This list of breads and grains are gluten-free.

    • Almond flour
    • Amaranth
    • Arrowroot
    • Bean flour
    • Besan
    • Brown rice
    • Brown rice flour
    • Buckwheat
    • Cassava
    • Corn flour
    • Corn meal
    • Corn starch
    • Cottonseed
    • Dal
    • Flaxseed
    • Job’s tears
    • Manioc
    • Millet
    • Milo
    • Pea flour
    • Polenta
    • Potato flour
    • Quinoa
    • Rice

(Read our post does rice contain gluten)

  • Rice flour
  • Sago
  • Soy flour
  • Tapioca flour
  • Taro flour
  • Tef
  • Yucca

Why not try our article on Gluten Free Alternatives to Breadcrumbs if this is an area of interest for yours. This post is particularly interesting if you’re looking for gluten free cornflake ideas.

Gluten Free Dairy And Eggs

Dairy and eggs are gluten free.

  • Butter (check for gluten containing additives)
  • Cheese (except for blue cheese)
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Yogurt (plain, unflavored)

Gluten Free Meat List

Meat is naturally gluten-free before being cooked. Once it’s cooked in oil, this may not be the case. Pay special attention to what cooking oil you use. As always, be careful of the amount of red meat you consume.

Gluten Free Meat List

  • Beef
  • Buffalo
  • Chicken
  • Duck
  • Goat
  • Goose
  • Lamb
  • Pork
  • Rabbit
  • Turkey
  • Quail
  • Veal
  • Venison

Gluten free meat is good because it doesn’t contain gluten, but you still need to be careful to avoid excess caloric intake. Meat is high in fat and calories so your portion size needs to remain small.

Gluten Free Fruit List

Fruits contain no gluten in nature. So if you want to make sure your fruit is gluten-free, simply eat it raw. Once cooked, some fruits can contain gluten. This list contains fruits which when eaten raw contain no gluten.

  • Acai
  • Apples
  • Apricot
  • Bananas
  • Blackberries
  • Blueberries
  • Cantaloupe
  • Carobs
  • Cherry
  • Cranberries
  • Currants
  • Dates
  • Figs
  • Grapes
  • Guavas
  • Honeydew melons
  • Kiwis
  • Kumquat
  • Lemons
  • Limes
  • Mandarin
  • Mangoes
  • Oranges
  • Papaya
  • Passion fruits
  • Peaches
  • Pears
  • Pineapples
  • Plantains
  • Plums
  • Persimmons
  • Quince
  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries
  • Tamarind
  • Tangerines
  • Watermelons




Gluten Free Vegetable List

Here is a list of gluten-free vegetables. These vegetables contain no gluten.

  • Artichokes
  • Arugula
  • Asparagus
  • Avocado
  • Beans
  • Beets
  • Broccoli
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cauliflower
  • Cabbage
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Corn
  • Cucumber
  • Eggplant
  • Garlic
  • Green beans
  • Kale
  • Lettuce
  • Mushrooms
  • Okra
  • Onions
  • Parsley
  • Peas
  • Peppers
  • Potatoes
  • Pumpkin
  • Radish
  • Spinach
  • Squash
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Turnips
  • Watercress





Wow that is a lot isn’t it! If you have anymore suggestions for the list feel free to add them in the comments section below.

Related Post

Leave a Reply