Gluten Free Grains

Gluten Free Grains

If you are looking for foods that contain gluten free grains, then it is important to understand what exactly the term gluten free entails to begin with.

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in many grains, cereals, breads, desserts, and flours. This protein cannot be processed correctly by people who are allergic to gluten, those who are gluten sensitive, and people who have celicac disease. And some people decide to avoid gluten by choice.

Do Oats Contain Gluten?

– A question often asked by people researching gluten free grains

Oats don’t generally contain gluten. They do though contain something called avenin. Avenin is harmless for people who are allergic to gluten though this protein has a very similar make up to gluten. Findings have on the whole shown people with coeliac disease can eat avenin. Issue arise when oats are prepared with gluten contain grains like rye, wheat and barley. Mixing these ingredients together in one preparation environment causes cross contamination so be careful and do your research.

 By definition, according to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), gluten free grains (and all gluten free foods, for that matter) cannot contain any of the following:

 

    • All forms of wheat
 
    • Barley
 
    • Rye
 
    • Any and all derivatives of the above
 




List of Gluten Free Grains

One of the best examples of gluten free grains is one particular type of grain known as Quinoa. Quinoa is a grain grown primarily in South America. Quinoa is not only gluten free, but it is also high in fiber. It is a complete protein that contains large amounts of the elements lysine, manganese, magnesium, iron, copper, and phosphorus. Being as protein-rich as it is, it makes for an excellent component of a vegan diet. Listed below are several other examples of gluten free grains and starches:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Chickpeas (Garbanzos)
  • Corn
  • Flax
  • Flours from nuts/beans/seeds
  • Millet
  • Potato starch or flour
  • Quinoa
  • Rice (and rice bran/flour)
  • Sago
  • Sorghum
  • Soy (but not most soy sauce)
  • Tapioca
  • Teff

Any of the above are grains and starches which are deemed safe to eat, as gluten free grains. To be 100 percent gluten free, these should also be free from the opportunity of cross contamination. You can eat them stand-alone or you can use them as ingredients in other foods.



List of Grains Containing Gluten

Here is a list of grains and grain products to avoid at all costs, because they do most likely contain gluten or have a high chance of cross contamination:

  • Barley
  • Barley malt/extract
  • Bran
  • Bulgur
  • Couscous
  • Durum
  • Farina
  • Faro
  • Kamut
  • Malt
  • Matzo flour/meal
  • Orzo
  • Panko
  • Rye
  • Seitan
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Udon
  • Wheat
  • Wheat bran / germ / starch





Related Post

Leave a Reply