Showing posts with label Gluten Free Communion Wafers. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Gluten Free Communion Wafers. Show all posts

August 28, 2010

Gluten Free Communion Wafers

Print Friendly and PDF
gluten free communion wafers
I'm not Catholic, but some of my friends are. I've heard of people skipping Communion because of gluten intolerance, gluten allergy, or celiac disease. I've also heard of people who eat gluten free all week only to get glutened every time they take Communion. These friends are in a constant cycle of feeling horrible and recovering, only to feel horrible again. That's no way to live, but missing out on an important part of your faith isn't really a great option either.

So, I did some research and I was happy to learn that there are gluten free Communion wafers!

Celebrate Communion

The gf Communion wafers from Celebrate Communion are free of all common food allergens. According to the website, they contain sweet rice flour, potato flour, palm fruit oil, and sunflower lecithin.

Ener-G Communion Wafers

The wafers offered by Ener-G are free of gluten, dairy, yeast, egg, soy, and nuts. Life the wafers offered by Celebrate Communion, they contain sweet rice flour, potato flour, palm fruit oil, and sunflower lecithin.

Controversy Surrounding GF Communion Wafers

Officially, the Catholic Church's stand is that Communion wafers must contain some wheat since that is what the Church believes Jesus ate. Therefore, there are those in the Catholic church who believe that Communion without wheat is invalid and unacceptable. The Catholic Diocese in Ohio has gone so far as to say that gf Communion wafers are unholy. In many churches, parishioners have used the gf wafers with no problems. In others, however, the gluten free options aren't available.

Other Options for Gluten-Sensitive Catholics

Low Gluten Wafers

The Vatican has said that Communion wafers must be made of wheat and water and that they must contain enough gluten to make bread. Apparently, bread can be made with a very minute amount of gluten. The Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration and Parish Crossroads both offer low gluten Communion wafers that meet the Vatican's standards. According to the Catholic Celiac Society, there is no need to eat the entire wafer. They say that consuming 1/4 of it is enough.

It's important to note that even this small amount of gluten can cause reactions in very sensitive individuals. For people with celiac disease, even a tiny bit of gluten may be too much. Please speak to your doctor, pray about it, and weigh the risks before you take this option.

Communion with Wine Only

The Church teaches that the whole of Christ is received through either the consecrated wine or the bread, so another option is to take Communion through the wine, or precious blood, only. If you take this option, it is best to request a separate cup to avoid cross-contamination. Make sure that no part of the bread, or consecrated host, has been placed in your cup and that no one who took the bread has drank from your cup.

For More Information

This is obviously a complicated issue. As a non-Catholic, I'm no expert. For more information, visit the Catholic Celiac Society.