Although we try to include all foods containing gluten on this list, do not consider this list comprehensive. It's always best to check your food labels.
List of Foods Containing Gluten
GrainsGrains are gluten in its most natural form, so avoid:
- Barley, including barley malt
PastasAny pasta, whether elbow macaroni, bowtie, spaghetti, rigatoni, or any other shape, that is made of:
Baked GoodsMost processed baked goods are made from wheat, so these contain gluten. Look for gluten free alternatives to these goodies:
- Bread crumbs
- Sandwich buns
- Hotdog buns
- Pizza crust
- Pie crust
CerealCereal made from rye, wheat, bran, and barley always contain gluten, but ones containing oats, corn, and rice are often processed on the same equipment as their gluteny counterparts. It is imperative that you look for the "gluten free" label on cereal.
Meat and PoultryIn its natural state, meat and poultry is gluten free. However, the processing and cooking of the meat often adds gluten. Be wary of any meat or poultry that is precooked or prepared, especially these types:
- Breaded meat or chicken
- Oven- or deep-fried meats
- Hot dogs and other meats processed with "natural flavors"
- Lunch meat
- Potato chips
- Tortilla chips
- Canned soup and broth
- Bouillon cubes
- Frozen or canned vegetables in sauce
- Restaurant or fast food French fries