Featured Posts


  • Gluten Free Hot Chocolate Recipe

    If you're a fan of milky, chocolatey drinks, you're liking craving a gluten free hot chocolate right about now (it's cold outside! Brrrr). Many prepared cocoa mixes contain gluten. Luckily, it's easy to make gf hot chocolate at home!Read more...


  • Gluten Free Fast Food

    Eating out is tricky when you're avoiding gluten. Sometimes it seems as though gluten is in everything, especially at fast food restaurants. You actually have quite a few options if you know where to look. Find out what's available at several of the most popular fast food chains.Read more...


  • Gluten Free Smoothie Recipes

    Fruit, ice, and milk or yogurt... just blend and serve. What could be better than a smoothie on a hot summer day? Just make sure your refreshing smoothie doesn't have gluten! Try these delicious recipes for gluten free summer smoothies.Read more...

March 26, 2013

Does Rice Contain Gluten?

Print Friendly and PDF
We eat a lot of rice in our house, so rice often appears in my recipes and meal suggestions. Lately, I've noticed more and more people leaving messages of confusion and outrage: "But rice contains gluten! How can you recommend people eat rice?"

The reality is, plain rice does not contain gluten. If you go to the store and buy a basic bag of rice-- no added seasonings or flavorings-- and cook it simply, it is gluten free. Now, that doesn't mean that all rice from all sources are gluten free. If you eat rice at a restaurant, you still need to ask if it contains gluten.

Sometimes people cook rice with seasoning mixes, sauces, or gravies, and those can all be sources of hidden gluten. When you're away from home and don't have complete control over the food preparation, it's always best to ask.

Always check the labels when you're buying rice, especially if you're buying prepared rice or rice mixes. Sometimes gluten sneaks into unexpected places and it's better to take the time to check.

One other important note: although rice doesn't contain gluten, there are people who develop sensitivities to rice (and any other food). If you seem to be sensitive to rice, consider getting checked for an allergy or sensitivity to it, or try eliminating it and see if that helps.


 

March 15, 2013

Gluten Free Chocolate Candy

Print Friendly and PDF
gluten free chocolate candyMy daughter is sick. Again. She's having all sorts of freaky symptoms and spiking fevers over 104 degrees. Thank God for candy! Seriously. I am so stressed right now and craving anything sweet. (Have I ever mentioned that I'm a stress eater? I am. In a major way.) If it wasn't for yummy chocolate and crunchy sweets, I would be running away from home.

But, alas, our local Kroger's healthy foods section has a nice selection of candy appropriate for a gluten free diet. And, many of your old favorites are gluten free too. Hooray!

My disclaimer: These things were gluten free at the time of this post, but you should always check labels just to be safe. You never know when a company might change its recipe. Plus, I could be wrong. It's been known to happen. Occasionally.

Our Favorite Gluten Free Chocolate Candy

  • 3 Musketeers
  • Almond Joy
  • Baby Ruth
  • Butterfinger (original flavor)
  • Dove chocolate
  • Enjoy Life-- all candy bars are allergen-free!
  • Heath bars
  • Hershey's Kisses
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate bar
  • Hershey's Milk Chocolate bar with almonds
  • Hershey's Nuggets
  • Hershey's Special Dark Chocolate bar
  • Junior Caramels
  • Junior Mints
  • Justin's Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
  • Justin's Dark Chocolate Peanut Candy Bar
  • Justin's Mikl Chocolate Almond Candy Bar
  • Justin's Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
  • Justin's Milk Chocolate Peanut Candy Bar
  • M&Ms (regular and peanut, but the pretzel flavor contains gluten)
  • Milky Way Caramel and Midnight (but the original contains gluten)
  • Mounds
  • Nestle Milk Chocolate bar
  • Oh Henry!
  • Reese's Peanut Butter Cups
  • Skor toffee bar
  • Snickers
  • York Peppermint Patties
What's your favorite gf chocolate candy?